Dear Future Muse

Dear Brooding,

No female lover of literature can hate you, can she? You have redeemed countless flawed men and made inner angst desirable. While dishing out fictional men, you are the secret ingredient that makes them delectable. I would call you a trope but it is hard to miss the fact that you work your magic every time. Heathcliffe, Mr. Darcy, Hamlet, Mr. Rochester, Jay Gatsby; can you sense the pattern in my list of favorite literary men?

As ubiquitous you are in literature, you are rare to find in real life. May I ask why you have kept yourself confined within the warm cocoon of the pages of classics? While I am unsure about my personal ability to deal with the intensity of such a man, it sure would be fun to meet a real life Byronic hero.I am sure every woman would want to uncover the mystery behind those aching yet smoldering eyes. I don’t know what you are afraid of. I can assure you that you are as fashionable a trait outside the novels as you are inside them.

Before you get excited and prepare to present yourself to us, I would like to remind you that you are not very appealing when you work alone. So, please bring your friends – enigma, wealth, intelligence and passion with you. Otherwise, there is no point. 

I hope you consider my request and don’t make me wait too long. I am in dire need of a muse, you see and time is running out.

Yours,

Desperate for a Muse

No prizes for guessing. My word was “Brooding”. Picked up from The Golden Notebook, Doris Lessing.

Written in response to a prompt on Writing 101 – To Whom It May Concern. The challenge is to pick up the nearest book and flip to page 29. What jumps out at you? Start there, and try a twist: write in the form of a letter.

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Dear Future Muse

Leave a Reply

